BVDZero Award 2016


On 29th November, journalists from different European countries attended the BVDZero Award 2016 event held in Frankfurt. The purpose of this event was to provide a global perspective of the disease. Main topics included:


· Prevalence of Type 2 in main European producing countries
  (Presented by Prof Volker Moennig and Lucy Metcalfe)


· Bovela New Study on Dynamic of Immunity
  (Presented by Jim Roth via video from the U.S. )


· Presentation by BVDZero Award top 3 cases


The BVDZero Award is a recognition of cases for their exemplary detection and prevention of the disease, sponsored by Boehringer Ingelheim. Out of 45 cases that submitted from 7 countries, and carefully reviewed by the Award Committee, the following top 3 cases were rewarded on the event day.


1st Place: Igor Ajuriaguerra from Veterinarios Asociados, based in Cantabria (Spain): highlighting serious negative impacts on both fertility and calf health due to BVD infection and false identification of infected cattle.







2nd Place: Katherine Lumb, BVSc MSc MRCVS from Bishopton Veterinary Group, North Yorkshire (UK): eradication of BVD at Watergate farm through establishment of good biosecurity and review of vaccination and monitoring programs.







3rd Place: Angela Damaso from The Royal Veterinary College (London, UK) Department of Production and Population Health: highlighting risk factors in eradication of BVD such as challenges around biosecurity, slow removal of persistently infected (PI) animals and number of naive animals due to lack of vaccination.






The BVDZero Award 2016 reflected all the effort we have put into this disease, and has become an event in celebration of the steps we are taking towards a complete eradication of the disease.

BVDzero Award 2016 Committee


Volker Moennig Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Volker Moennig

PhD, Prof. Director at the Virology Institute of the Veterinary University Hannover, Germany

Jozef Laureyns Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Jozef Laureyns

DVM, PhD Assistant Professor in the Department of Reproduction, Obstetrics and Herd Health at the Faculty of Veterinary Medicine in Ghent University, Belgium

Francesco Testa Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Francesco Testa

DVM, PhD. Bovine practitioner, Italy

Juan Manuel Loste Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Juan Manuel Loste

DVM Bovine practitioner, Spain

Raphael Guatteo Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Raphael Guatteo

PhD, Assistant Professor in Bovine Health Management
ONIRIS & INRA, Department of Farm Animal Health and Public health, Nantes, France

John Fishwick Member of BVDzero Award Committee

John Fishwick

Head of Department of Production and Population Health, The Royal Veterinary College, Hatfield, England

Axel Mauroy Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Axel Mauroy


Fundamental and applied Research for Animals and Health center in the Department of infectious and parasitic, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, University of Liège, Belgium

Susanna Astiz Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Susana Astiz

Researcher in the Animal Reproduction Department, National Institute of Agricultural and Food Research (INIA), Madrid, Spain

Klaus Doll Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Klaus Doll

DVM, Prof., DipECBHM
Registered specialist for cattle and for clinical laboratory diagnostics at the Clinic for Ruminants at Justus-Liebig-Universität, Frankfurt, Germany

Wiel van den Ekker Member of BVDzero Award Committee

Wiel Van den Ekker

DVM, Veterinarian for ruminants in the Veterinary centre of Overlaet, Netherlands